KRAIBURG LEP – Leading Edge Protection

What is KRAIBURG LEP?

KRAIBURG LEP is a film for protection against erosion damage to the leading edges of the rotor blades of wind turbines. A quality product which has been developed over the past years and tailored to the requirements of an innovative, highly technical industry.

Sector and area of use: Wind power generation Onshore and offshore

KRAIBURG LEP characterized by long-term erosion protection of the blade leading edge of wind turbines while at the same time offering UV protection of the erosion protection film and ease of use during application. The long-term reliability with a high dynamic durability results in low maintenance and repair costs for the plants. As our material is especially suitable for use in extreme conditions, customers benefit from KRAIBURG LEP in both onshore and offshore sectors.

Wind energy as a supporting pillar

The global targets for reducing CO2 emissions can only be achieved using green energy. Wind energy plays a key role here by using wind turbines. It now generates the greatest share of renewable energies and continues to grow constantly.

The efficient use of the natural force of wind using innovative technologies and systems is an exciting challenge for manufacturers, as well as for servicing and maintenance companies.

The long-term erosion protection for wind turbine rotor blades

The use of elastomers as a high-tech material has an important role. With KRAIBURG LEP, we offer a product which serves demanding applications and meets the challenges of an efficient production and application process for rotor blades.

What advantages does KRAIBURG LEP offer?

  • High impact damping protects the underlaying layer of the laminate structure against impacts, e.g. by water drops or other particles
  • Direct integration through resin infusion during rotor blade manufacture possible (no additional bonding agents required)
  • Retroactive application using a suitable adhesive possible, e.g. when servicing the rotor blades
  • Improved drainage of water drops thanks to low surface tension of the film
  • Excellent UV resistance

The layer structure of KRAIBURG LEP

Lagenaufbau KRAIBURG LEP
Windrad mit KRAIBURG LEP

"High dynamic durability
and lifespan,
UV resistance, wear"

Contact us today!

What is the difference to existing solutions?

Impact resistance

Films which are available on the market allow the energy of the impacting rain to pass through on to the laminate unimpeded. Extensive tests using X-ray computer tomography show that damage to the fibre composite structure at the point of impact is significantly diminished by using KRAIBURG LEP.

Practical requirement - Partial repair

When developing KRAIBURG LEP, the focus was on practical requirements. Here, the option of partial repairs (splicing) was considered. In this context, a repair point with impact at an angle of 45° and 90° was tested. A ten-hour rain erosion simulation revealed no difference to the undamaged film. This confirms the high durability of KRAIBURG LEP.

Reduction of service and repair costs

The service intervals play a crucial role in the life cycle of a wind turbine. A damaged rotor blade surface results in poor performance which in turn results in loss of power output and high repair costs. The use of KRAIBURG LEP helps to reduce service and repair costs.

More information on KRAIBURG LEP

Would you like to learn more on KRAIBURG LEP? Here you will find all the information you need.

KRAIBURG LEP – Leading Edge Protection

Was ist KRAIBURG LEP?

KRAIBURG LEP ist eine Folie zum Schutz der Blattvorderkanten von Rotorblättern von Windenergieanlagen gegen Erosionsschäden. Ein Qualitätsprodukt, das über die letzten Jahre entwickelt und auf die Belange einer innovativen, hoch technisierten Industrie zugeschnitten wurde.

Branche und Einsatzbereich: Windenergiegewinnung On- und Offshore

KRAIBURG LEP zeichnet sich nicht nur durch einen langlebigen Erosionsschutz der Blattnase von Windrädern aus. Neben gleichzeitigem UV-Schutz der Erosionsschutzfolie, ist auch die einfache Handhabung bei der Anbringung maßgeblich. Durch eine langjährige Zuverlässigkeit bei hohen dynamischen Belastungen führt dies zu einem geringen Wartungs- und Instandhaltungsaufwand der Anlagen. Da sich unser Material speziell für den Einsatz unter extremen Bedingungen eignet, profitieren Kunden sowohl im Onshore als auch im Offshore Bereich von KRAIBURG LEP.

Windenergie als tragende Säule

Die weltweit gesteckten Ziele zur Senkung des CO2 Ausstoßes können nur mit Ökostrom erreicht werden. Eine tragende Säule ist die Windenergie mit den Windenergieanlagen (WEA). Sie hat mittlerweile den größten Anteil an den erneuerbaren Energien und wächst weiterhin stetig.

Die effiziente Nutzung der Naturkraft Wind durch innovative Technologien und Anlagen ist eine spannende Herausforderung für Hersteller sowie für Service- und Wartungsunternehmen.

Langlebiger Erosionsschutz für Rotorblätter von Windenergieanlagen

Dem Einsatz von Elastomeren als High-Tech-Werkstoff kommt dabei eine wesentliche Bedeutung zu. KRAIBURG LEP bedient nicht nur die anspruchsvollsten Anwendungen. Auch wird es den Anforderungen eines effizienten Produktions- und Anwendungsprozesses von Rotorblättern gerecht.

Welche Vorteile bietet KRAIBURG LEP?

  • Hohe Impact-Dämpfung (Schutz vor Wassertropfen oder anderen Partikeln)
  • Direkte Integration durch Harzinfusion bei der Rotorblattherstellung möglich (keine zusätzlichen Haftvermittler notwendig)
  • Nachträgliches Aufbringen unter Einsatz von geeignetem Klebstoff möglich (z. B. beim Service an Rotorblättern)
  • Bessere Ableitung von Wassertropfen durch geringe Oberflächenspannung der Folie
  • Hervorragende UV-Beständigkeit

Der Lagenaufbau von KRAIBURG LEP

Lagenaufbau KRAIBURG LEP
Windrad mit KRAIBURG LEP

"Hohe dynamische Belastbarkeit
und Lebensdauer,
UV-B Beständigkeit, Abrieb"

Kontaktieren sie uns jetzt!

Was ist der Unterschied zu bestehenden Lösungen?

Dynamische Belastbarkeit

Auf dem Markt erhältliche und eingesetzte Folien lassen die Energie des auftretenden Regens ungehindert auf das Laminat durch. Umfangreiche Untersuchungen zeigen, dass Schädigungen des Faserverbundaufbaus an der Impactstelle durch den Einsatz von KRAIBURG LEP erheblich herabgesetzt werden.

Praxisnahe Anforderung - die partielle Reparatur

Der Fokus bei der Entwicklung von KRAIBURG LEP lag auf praxisnahen Anforderungen. Dabei wurde die Möglichkeit zu partiellen Reparaturen (Splicing) berücksichtigt. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde eine Reparaturstelle mit einem Aufschlag im Winkel von 45° und 90° getestet. Eine zehnstündige Regenerosionssimulation ergab keinen Unterschied zur unbeschädigten Folie.

Reduzierung von Service- und Reparaturkosten

Regelmäßige Wartung und Service spielen eine entscheidende Rolle im Zyklus einer Windkraftanlage. Eine beschädigte Oberfläche führt zu einer schlechteren Leistung der Rotorblätter und zieht hohe Reparaturkosten nach sich. Mit dem Einsatz von KRAIBURG LEP und der Möglichkeit einer partiellen Reparatur verringern sich diese maßgeblich.

Mehr Informationen zu KRAIBURG LEP

Möchten Sie mehr erfahren, bevor Sie mit unseren Experten sprechen? Hier finden Sie alle Informationen zu KRAIBURG LEP!